The Native Son/Daughter Award is presented annually by the Norwich Noontime Rotary Club, the Norwich Sunrise Rotary Club, and the Norwich Woman's City Club. It recognizes outstanding achievements by Norwich, Connecticut natives who reached those achievements while living outside the Norwich area.
The 2018 Norwich Native Son Award will be presented to former Coast Guard Captain Ed Cubanski on May 30th, 2018 at noon at the Holiday Inn, Norwich.
Captain Cubanski attended Wequonnoc Elementary School, Greenville Elementary School, John Moriarty Elementary School, and Kelly Junior High School. He graduated from Norwich Tech in 1984 with a concentration in Electrical Trades. There he earned a Bronze Medal in the 1983 National Vocational Industrial Clubs of America, and a Silver Medal in the 1984 competition.
Cubanski earned the Eagle Scout Award, with six palms, in Troop 4 Norwich.
He graduated from the United States Coast Guard Academy in 1988 with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Electrical Engineering. In 2004, he was awarded a Master’s Degree in Aviation Business Administration from Embry-Riddle University.
He started his Coast Guard career in 1988, serving as an Engineering-Officer-in-Training aboard the Coast Guard Cutter Chase. From 1990-91 he served as an Assistant Engineering Officer aboard the Cutter Hamilton. In 1992, he completed Naval Flight School in Pensacola, Florida. From 1992-96, he served as a HAZMAT Officer and Aviation Engineering Special Services Branch Chief Air Station Miami. From 1997-98, he served as Unit Development Planning Officer Air Station Miami. In 1998-2000 he was a Polar Operations Senior Aviator in Mobile, Ala. He then served from 2000-2003 as a Project Manager for HITRON, Ship Helo and Polar Operations. From 2003-2006, he served as Operations Officer - Helicopter Interdiction Tactical Squadron (HITRON) in Jacksonville, Fla.
In 2006, he became Commander - Executive Officer Air Station Atlantic City. In 2008, he was made Commanding Officer, Air Station New Orleans. In 2010, he was named Eighth District Incident Management Branch Chief in New Orleans. Then, in June of 2013, he was named Sector Commander Long Island Sound, where he led over 2,600 Coast Guard active duty, reserve, and auxiliary personnel in Connecticut and New York.
While serving in the Coast Guard, he logged over 3,000 flight hours, was awarded five Meritorious Service Medals, three Coast Guard Achievement Medals, among several other personal and unit awards.
After retirement in July of 2016, Cubanski moved to Saratoga Springs and now works for FedEx Ground as an operations manager.
From Sept. 2013 to Nov. 2015, Cubanski served as the Executive Vice President of the Lordship Father’s Club in Stratford, Conn. Since 1947, the Lordship Fathers’ Club has been chartered to support schools, neighbors and family events.
From August 2008 until April 2013, Cubanski led a small group of individuals in overhauling and renovating the Belle Chasse Primary School playground, which had been severely damaged by Hurricane Katrina in 2005. Over 3,000 feet of wood surface were replaced, using over 10,000 screws and 300 bolts. The playground today is used by over 1,150 students.
In addition to leading the playground renovation, Cubanski also coached six different youth soccer teams at the school for children ranging from ages 8-13.
Cubanski has been the President of the New London Maritime Society since November of 2016.
Captain Cubanski is married to Sherry Cagle of Saratoga Springs, N.Y. (where the couple resides), and they have two children, Zoe and Lily. Cubanski was nominated by his aunt, Ann M. Carignan of Norwich.
1. Nominees must have: a. Been either born in Norwich or to parents who were residents of Norwich at the time of the nominee’s birth, and b. Lived in Norwich during most of his/her life through high school. Persons who were born to parents residing in a bordering town at the time of that person’s birth may also be nominated, providing all of the following criteria are met in full: i. Nominee moved into Norwich before beginning first grade, and ii. Continued to reside in Norwich through high school
2. Nominee must also agree to receive the award in person at the Native Son/Daughter Award Luncheon in Norwich in the May/June timeframe.
Here's a video of last year's honoree, Dr. Michael Morosky, accepting his award.
Previous Honorees
Year Honoree Description
2017 Dr. Michael F. Morosky Chief of Obstetrics & Gynecology, Johnson Mem. Medical Ctr.
2016 Marsha E. Malinowski CEO, Marsha Malinowski Fine Books & Manuscripts LLC
2015 Honorable Nina F. Elgo Superior Court Judge, Hartford, Conn
2014 Matthew K. Shaughnessy Football Player, Arizona Cardinals
2013 Richard W. Brewer Insurance executive and economist
2012 William Diodato Fashion photographer
2011 Maureen Sullivan President, American Library Association
2010 Thomas R. McCarthy * Kentucky Derby horse trainer
2009 Alexander Kreiglowa Real estate investor, philanthropic work
2008 Michael C Mathieu Computer programmer, invented spell check
2007 Dr. June A. Bradlaw * Prominent research biologist
2006 Adm. Arnold Lotring COO for Naval Education
2005 Adm. Robert Papp Jr. US Coast Guard Commandant
2004 Dr. Joseph W. Gravel Jr. Lawrence Mass. Medical program director
2003 Libby Gordon Cohen Early childhood development & education
2002 Catherine Twomey Fosnot Mathematics professor & childhood education
2001 Peter Slosberg Microbrewing pioneer – Pete’s Wicked Ale
2000 Patricia Reiss Tennison Journalist and cookbook author
1999 Dr. Robert Wilson Runs charitable health clinics in Boston
1998 Nora O'Brien Hughes Chairwoman of Sumitomo Bank
1997 Rene Champagne CEO for ITT Educational Services
1996 Howie Dickenman Head Coach, CCSU
1995 Dr. Karl Weisgraber Alzheimer’s research, biochemist
1994 Berel Lang Philosopher, author and professor
1993 Brig. Gen. Thomas Mikolojcik * Air force general during 1993 Somalian conflict
1992 William Dorrow Early HIV / AIDS researcher
1991 Allan Latham Jr. * Engineer, Inventor of blood processing equipment
1990 Dr. Marie Farrell Women’s and children’s health activist, professor
1989 Rev. Avery Post (Past) president of the United Church of Christ
1988 Peggy Roberts McPherson Pulitzer Prize winning journalist
1987 Nicholas Macarchuk College basketball coach (Canisius, Fordham, Stony Brook)
1986 Dr. Frederick Mandell Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) expert
1985 Dr. Nellie Beetham Ecologist and author
1984 Lewis E Randall * Educator – Norwich Sports Hall of Fame member
1983 Deborah Sinay Television producer and executive
1982 Dr. Eric M. Meyers Archaeologist and Duke University professor
1981 Dr. Frank J. Pedace Medical doctor and vintner
1980 Budd Friedman Comedian and Entertainer, founder “The Improv”"
1979 Robert Brand * Ambassador / diplomatic corps
1978 Dr. Richard Quintiliani Doctor, director at Hartford Hospital, professor
1977 Thomas J. Welsh Financial director of Carvel ice cream company
1976 Walter F. Brown * CEO of Uniroyal Tore Company
1975 Dr. Robert H. Mahoney Educator
1974 Henry Jerome * Big band leader and music company executive
1973 James F. Shugrue * Commissioner – Connecticut Dept. of Transportation
1972 Dr. James W. Moore * Athletic Director at Southern Connecticut State Univ.
1971 Lou Hazam * Television broadcast pioneer at NBC
1970 Gen. William T. Evans * "Four-star Air Force general
1969 Msgr Terence P. Finnegan * Chief clergyman for U.S. military forces in Europe
1968 Dr. Thomas P. Melady * First U.S. ambassador to the Vatican
* deceased